New Michael Jackson single hits radio today; Justin Timberlake features on Deluxe Edition of ‘XSCAPE’!

Share Button

Justin Timberlake confirmed today that he will feature on a remix of Michael Jackson’s new single “Love Never Felt So Good”. Timberlake put the rumors to rest by uploading the above artwork, which reads “Love Never Felt So Good – Michael Jackson & Justin Timberlake” to his Instagram account.

The global radio debut of “Love Never Felt So Good”, which is being unveiled for the first time today during the iHeart Radio Music Awards in Los Angeles, has been brought forward by four days – from May 5 to today. UK radio stations Heart and Capital FM will debut the track during their breakfast shows, while the track will hit Australian radio shortly after lunch, at approximately 2pm AEST. It is also expected to go into U.S. rotation following the conclusion of the iHeart Awards.

The “official” single will be Michael Jackson’s solo rendition of the track. The version featuring Justin Timberlake’s vocals will serve as a bonus track on the Deluxe Edition of the ‘XSCAPE’ album.

The iHeart Radio Music Awards go to air on NBC in less than four hours. “Love Never Felt So Good” will be premiered during the broadcast, featuring a live performance by a special guest, according to the official iHeart Radio Twitter account.

“WOAH. Just blown away at the #iHeartAwards rehearsals: by new @MichaelJackson track, by the performance and by the special guest!” teased iHeart Radio, adding: “The premiere of Michael Jackson’s new song with a special guest TONIGHT at #iHeartAwards! Watch LIVE on NBC at 8/7c!”

The special guest, however, remains a mystery.

Attention has immediately been pointed towards Justin Timberlake, with fans speculating that will be there to perform his portion of the bonus track on stage as part of a live/virtual duet with Jackson from beyond the grave.

It wouldn’t be the first time a performance of that nature was carried out in honor of Jackson. In January 2010 during the 52nd Annual Grammy Awards several stars, including Celine Dion, Usher and Smokey Robinson paid tribute to Jackson by each performing select lines from his environmental awareness anthem, “Earth Song”. Jackson himself was included in the performance, with his chillingly powerful vocals playing through the auditorium sound system.

The only problem with the Justin Timberlake theory in this particular scenario is that Timberlake currently performing a concert in Antwerp, Belgium, and is due to perform another there tomorrow. For those of you who’re thinking JT could zip over to LA by private jet for the performance; it’s a 12-hour flight from Antwerp to Los Angeles. Impossible!

So who will take to the stage as part of the “Love Never Felt So Good” premiere? Your guess is as good as mine! Some fans have speculated that the hologram technology used in Cirque du Soleil’s Michael Jackson ‘ONE’ show might be implemented during the iHeart Awards to project the likeness of Jackson himself centre-stage on the night. I sure hope this isn’t the case. The hologram in Cirque’s ‘ONE’ show is, in fact, not Michael Jackson at all, but an impersonator. The last thing we need is a repeat of 2010, with impersonators being used to launch a posthumous Michael Jackson album.

UPDATE: Usher performed a special dance tribute to Michael Jackson’s “Love Never Felt So Good” – see below:

In other news, Music Unlimited subscribers will get early access to five ‘XSCAPE’ album tracks from May 5 to May 9. Music Unlimited will stream one new song each day and reveal exclusive artwork on the Sony Entertainment Network blog.

Complete ‘XSCAPE’ Deluxe Edition track list:

CD content:
1. Love Never Felt So Good
2. Chicago
3. Loving You
4. A Place With No Name
5. Slave To The Rhythm
6. Do You Know Where Your Children Are
7. Blue Gangsta
8. Xscape
9. Love Never Felt So Good (Original Version)
10. Chicago (aka She Was Lovin’ Me) (Original Version)
11. Loving You (Original Version)
12. A Place With No Name (Original Version)
13. Slave To The Rhythm (Original Version)
14. Do You Know Where Your Children Are (Original Version)
15. Blue Gangsta (Original Version)
16. Xscape (Original Version)
17. Love Never Felt So Good – Michael Jackson & Justin Timberlake

DVD content:
Xscape Documentary (L.A. Reid and the producers discuss their experiences on this project)
Xscape Documentary Outtakes

Exclusive Mr. Brainwash poster – Michael Jackson was an early admirer of Mr. Brainwash and they became friends. Now he has created an original piece of art which has been included as a poster with the CD version.

Discuss below…

Share Button